New appointees to CIHR Governing Council

The Governing Council of Canadian Institutes of Health Research has announced six new members appointed by Health minister Ginette Petitpas Taylor. The council members, with a term of three years each, will provide advice to the minister and help the council develop CIHR’s strategic directions, goals and policies. The new appointees are Dr Alice B. Aiken, VP Research at Dalhousie Univ; Dr Brenda J. Andrews, professor of molecular genetics and Charles H. Best Chair of Medical Research, Univ of Toronto; Dr Mark S. Dockstator, president of the First Nations Univ of Canada; Dr Nada Jabado, professor of pediatrics and human genetics at McGill Univ; Dr Jean Anne Shoveller, professor at the Univ of British Columbia’s School of Population and Public Health; and Dr Marcello A. Tonelli, associate VP Research at the Univ of Calgary. The CIHR Governing Council also appoints scientific directors and Institute Advisory Board members.